Royal Borough status

- Only four authorities have Royal Borough Status:
 - The Royal Borough of Kingston-Upon-Thames, who were given the status in 1200 by King John;
 - The Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, whose title was conferred as a wish left in the will of Queen Victoria;
 - The Royal Borough of Windsor whose title was effectively "regularised" by King George V as the Borough had commonly used the term; and
 - The Royal Borough of Greenwich, who were given the title as part of the Queens Diamond Jubilee Celebrations in 2012, in recognition of their close links with the royalty. At the time the status was conferred on Greenwich, the Royal Household issued a statement in which it was "made clear that the Grant of Royal Borough Status to Greenwich in 2012 will be a very rare and exceptional mark of Royal favour".
- While St Edmundsbury does not currently have Royal Borough Status, there
 are several aspects within west Suffolk, which could support an application
 for Royal Borough Status should this be a desired option, which could
 include:
 - The history of West Suffolk with the Kings of East Anglia, St Edmund in particular, and St Edmund's status as the Patron Saint of England until the time of King Edward III;
 - The history of West Suffolk with the Kings of England, which can be traced to the time of King Cnut who re-built the Abbey of St Edmund and also to Newmarket, which has been a home of Royalty since the time of James I, who built the first Newmarket Palace;
 - The links between the Abbey and the royal family, most notably at the time of the Battle of Hastings and succession of King William I, which led to the creation of the Liberty of St Edmund which preserved in local governance until 1974;
 - The links between West Suffolk and events of major historical significance, including the forming of the Magna Carta (Bury St Edmunds) and the English Civil War (Newmarket); and
 - o The strong links between the area and the armed forces.